The Fight Continues in the War against Scleritis

Standard

My Eyes

I saw my Rheumatologist this morning to discuss the next step in my war against scleritis.  So far I have failed Methotrexate, Cyclophosphamide, Azathioprine and Rituximab.  My doctor reckons that because scleritis is rare not much research has been put into treatments so they are just trying everything until they find something that works.

Ok so the plan is either Infliximab infusions or Humira injections.  Because the treatment is expensive the hospital has to put a plan in to the expensive drug committee stating my case and hopefully they will approve one of them.  The doctor reckons that they will probably go with the infusions because you can give a larger dose at once and you can be more precise with dosing as it goes on bodyweight.  It will be a pain having to have to go to the hospital for infusions but at this stage I need to do everything I can to get rid of this nasty, painful disease before it wrecks my eyesight any more than it already has.  I already have awful vision from the Keratoconus so I really don’t need the scleritis damaging my eyes too.

I am hoping that if the treatment works it will take away the swelling that I have under my eye.  It looks awful like I have been punched in the eye and is from inflammation and the fortnightly steroid injections I have to have.  I often have a black eye after the injections too.  When I am meeting someone for the first time I really hate to look them in the eye because my eye looks so ugly. I find myself looking anywhere but their eyes which can be perceived as rude but I don’t mean it to be I am just a bit embarrassed.

The drug committee only meets once a month so it could be a week or two until I hear anything.  In the meantime I have to stop the Cyclophosphamide at the end of this week as I have been on it for 6 months which is the maximum duration as it is an accumulative dose and I am now up to the maximum dose.  It’s not working any more anyway so there is no point in continuing with it.

I will be glad to be off of the chemo and it’s associated side effects, although I know that the new med will have it’s own set of sides to contend with.

I felt that it was a really positive meeting this morning.  The rheumatologist was great; she really explained things and listened to my questions and concerns.  Let’s hope that this next line of treatment works!

Leave a Reply

