Testing the Faber Castell Albrecht Durer Pencils

Standard

image

I bought a few Faber Castell Albrecht Durer watercolour pencils to add to my Prismacolor range of colours.  They are not as soft as the prismas but this means you are not sharpening them every 2 minutes like the prismas so they should last a lot longer.  You can use them wet or dry and they are vibrant and nice to colour with.  I like the idea of having the option of using them wet if I want to, nice to have the choice.

I’m working on an Animorphia piece at the moment, last night I used the Durers and used some Vaseline for blending.  I was very impressed with the performance of the pencils so I’m certainly going to invest in a set.  The Vaseline was fun to use, it made the pencils silky smooth and gave a nice finish.

As with any high quality art item they are expensive, but you really do get what you pay for.  These bad boys really deliver.  Now to save for a set!

Leave a Reply

