Chronic Pain Is Wearing Me Down But I Am A Warrior!

Standard

image

I like this quote.  As a person who suffers with chronic pain every day it feels real to me, I can really relate.

Every day I go to work and put a smile on my face when inside I am crying in pain.  Some days are worse than others but I have some level of pain every single day without a break.  It really starts to wear you down.  I often moan a bit at work, but my colleagues have no idea of the pain I am in every day.  I get up in the morning and put that brave face on and it stays there for the duration.

My partner is amazing, even when I am trying to put a smile on my face she knows when I’m not doing so well.  Like the quote says she must see it in my eyes.  Oh yes, the moaning out loud probably gives her a clue too!

I rely a lot on strong pain killers but do realise this shouldn’t be a long term solution.  I often try to find other solutions to my pain but giving myself a pep talk and practicing mindfulness doesn’t really cut it when I am laying there in agony.

I try to take it one day at a time.  I used to fret and worry about how long this illness would last but now I know that there is no value in that it just makes me depressed.  Now I just get through each day and relax in bed at night knowing I have conquered another day.

This morning I am sitting in a coffee shop enjoying a skinny cappuccino whilst writing this post.  A positive thing to come from this is the realisation that I am much stronger than I ever give myself credit for.  I don’t let my pain stop me doing things and I live a full and very happy life.  I am a warrior!

4 responses »

  1. There is something so incredibly draining about constant pain day after day after day. It does take a warrior to live a full and happy life anyway, absolutely!!! Hope you get some clarity and reasonable treatment ideas soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You sure are a warrior. You are my hero. You never cease to amaze me. I am not sure I could cope like you do. Stay strong my love and lean on me whenever you need to. xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

