A Visit From The Parents

Standard

image

My parents are coming over from the UK to visit in September. I have a fair bit of anxiety about the visit as I haven’t seen them in 12 years and our relationship was kind of estranged before that.

Over the last 18 months or so we have mended our relationship and get on really well, I am looking forward to their visit a lot but I am also really freaking out about it.

My partner who is wonderfully supportive knows I have anxiety about the visit so suggested that we take them away for a few nights so that we can all have a break and do the touristy thing together.  We have booked a gorgeous apartment with an ocean view so the old folk can sit on the balcony, read the paper, have brekky and admire the stunning Queensland Coast.

We decided on Caloundra as we both really like it there and it’s a great base to explore the Sunshine Coast.  We are staying here http://www.windwardpassage.com.au/ it looks great and I am really excited to be going away for a few days and showing my parents where I have been living for the past dozen years.

I am working hard to control my anxiety, mostly by colouring.  I am really enjoying colouring, I find it totally relaxing and when I am doing it I am not thinking about anything negative or scary.  Amazing how something so simple can be so effective.  Another stress releiving activity for me is reading, if I can lose myself in a good book, that’s it the anxiety is gone. 

So I am armed with my toolbox of anxiety busting remedies, all should be good!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

