Chronic Migraine

Standard

image

Saw the neurologist with regards to my chronic headaches yesterday.  It was a good appointment; the doctor was very thorough in the history she took and in examining me.

The first thing she said to me was “what’s wrong with your eyes” LOL I get that all the time.  She checked the backs of my eyes and that was fine in the right eye but my cornea in the left eye is hazy from the inflammation so she couldn’t see the back of that one, but I know they are fine because my eye doctor checked herself a couple of weeks ago so the neurologist was happy with that.

I have empty sella syndrome which means ……

In empty sella syndrome, the sella turcica (the bony structure at the base of the brain that houses the pituitary gland) enlarges, but the pituitary remains normal-sized or shrinks. People with empty sella syndrome have a defect in the tissue barrier that normally keeps the cerebrospinal fluid around the brain separate from the sella turcica. As a result, cerebrospinal fluid puts increased pressure on the pituitary gland and the walls of the sella turcica. The sella turcica may enlarge, and the pituitary gland may shrink.

With that and my chronic headaches the neurologist has scheduled an MRI for me just to be on the safe side but she feels that I have chronic migraine and there is nothing sinister going on.

We discussed pain relief options but unfortunately because of the amount of other meds I take drug interactions stop me from taking a lot of stuff that they would normally prescribe.  She did prescribe Lyrica taken daily and Maxolon to take with aspro clear to be taken at the first sign of a migraine.

Headaches have been really good lately, but that may be because I am taking regular pain killers for my eyes so one hasn’t had a chance to develop. I’m already on so many meds that I am not going to start taking the Lyrica unless the headaches start coming back every day.

So all in all a positive outcome, will see what the MRI says but looking good at the moment.

One response »

Leave a Reply

