Keratoconus & Topographies

Standard

image

I found these topographies from 2008 showing my corneas affected by Keratoconus.  I wonder how they look now 7 years on.  I reckon it would be really interesting to see updated ones.  The way my eyes feel I think they would look pretty different.

I remember the day these were taken, my partner and I (who also has KC) took part in a study by a university in Brisbane.  They put us through a whole heap of tests to gather data and do research and hopefully help keratoconus patients in the future.

Keratoconus is an invisible disease, it can affect your life in so many different ways but no one knows that you have it.  That can make life so difficult as it can make us behave in ways that can make us look a little odd to non KC people.  People often get the blank stare from me as though no one is home because sometimes it takes me a while to process what I am seeing.

My uncorrected vision is 20/450; legal blindness is 20/200 so my vision is really bad.  With my lenses in I have normal vision (according to the Snellen chart) but I still reckon we see things differently to people with normal eyes.  Only a person with KC would understand that.  I remember one time when I was younger I was calling my cat in from outside.  I was calling and calling and she wouldn’t come in so I walked over to get her and it turned out to be an old chunk of tree truck – not my cat at all!  That’s the sort of thing that we deal with on a daily basis.

I think people with KC miss a lot of detail.  Up close vision is pretty good but distance is hopeless, even with lenses in I don’t see the stars in the sky, the pretty flowers on trees, and the beauty of the colourful Aussie birds.  I see smudges of muted colour not an actual object.  I don’t know what it is like to see crisp clear images it has been so long I have forgotten. 

I am longing for the day when they can do full eye transplants.  That would be so amazing to get a brand new pair of eyes.  Ones that are not always tired and sore and struggling to see.  I wonder how long in the future that is.  In my lifetime I hope because I want them bad!

2 responses »

  1. Hi Dawn, keep your chin up, My son Glen has a friend in America who ran a Marathon in America last winter and they had a blizzard and his left eyeball actually froze, he lost the sight in that eye, and emailed me yesterday saying he is longing for the day when they can do full eye transplants. I believe it will come, look at what they can do with so many transplants these days !!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

