The Grind of Chronic Daily Headaches

Standard

image

I get the same headache nearly every day, behind my right eye and right side of the head.  It feels like my brain is pulsating.  They feel like a mini version of the full on migraine that I occasionally get.   I could blame it on my recent eye problems and eye strain but I have been having chronic headaches for years.  The eye problems are not helping though, in fact my headaches have become worse over recent months.

I do have short stretches of time when I don’t have a headache, I can go for a week or so and think that things are going great and my headaches are over.  Then they hit me again and I will have a headache every day for a few weeks without any relief.  It’s like one giant headache just rolling over to the next day, then the next day, and so on.

Some of my headaches may be rebound headaches.  I am really careful about how much medication I take but when you have a non-stop headache for weeks at a time you just have to take something to get some relief from it.   I need pain relief from the scleritis too so I am also using painkillers for that.  I would say that I take painkillers on every day of the week.

As I have bipolar I have to be really careful to keep my mental health balanced to stay well but being in pain all day, every day makes this challenging sometimes.  At the moment I am feeling a little down, I am at the stage of being over it and just want it all to go away.  I was reading some papers on scleritis the other day and it can go on for years rather than weeks or months.  I think mine will be sticking around for a while. I have had it for nearly 7 months so it appears that it will be a long term problem in my case.  Oh joy that’s something to look forward to.

I’m really feeling cranky because I’m in pain but I still have to get up, go to work, somehow get through my day, come home and cook dinner etc. etc., you get the picture.  Some days I just want to stay tucked up in bed and let the world go on without me.  But I know that if I give in to the pain or the depression I will get worse.  I will have a full blown bipolar episode and be a complete maniac. That’s no fun for anyone.  My poor family suffers when I am feeling mentally unwell, luckily my partner is great so my nutty periods generally don’t last too long. 

I don’t really know what I can do to get through this apart from take painkillers and stay strong.  I must be a tough old bird because I get up and go to work every day no matter how bad I am feeling so that gives me the strength to go on.  I’m not ready to throw in the towel quite yet, I am going to win this fight.

4 responses »

  1. With my Keratoconus I’ve had headaches as long as i can remember. Not fun. The thing i find so frustrating is that Keratoconus is not an obvious disorder to others and i am often accused of being “disengaged” as if i am merely daydreaming and off with the pixies. So i can really appreciate this post of yours ☺

    Like

Leave a Reply

