Gonna Have a Crazy Eye for a While

Standard

Eye 4 days after injection 150515

4 days after the Avastin injection my eye is still looking pretty crook, got a lovely shiner to match the red eye.  Saw the eye doctor yesterday for a check up on my crazy looking eye.  Aparantly a subconjunctival hemorrhage is quite common after an Avastin injection, but the doctor was very impressed with mine, usually it’s a minor problem but mine is the biggest bruise she has seen in a long  time.  As well as the bloodshot eye I have a proper black eye underneath too.  Unfortunately it can take around a month for it to clear up so I am going to look like I have been in a pub brawl for a while longer.

I need to get over my shyness with it, I have been hiding out in my office at work and avoiding people because it looks so horrible but if I’m going to be living with it for a while I need to get out there with my head held high and not worry about it.  Perhaps I should make up a cool story about how I got it instead of a boring old injection!

I am hoping the I will be able to get my lens in that eye in the next few days,  I was hoping for today but it is just too sore still.   It has been really difficult at work wearing just one lens. I am managing on the computer OK as I have the font really big but I am finding reading paperwork really challenging.

The rhumatologist has increased my methotrexate to 15mg with a view to raising it to 20mg in about 4 weeks if my bloods look good.  Hopefully will finally be able to get off of the prednisone.

I just want to get rid of the scleritis and get relatively normal eyes back (as normal as a keratoconic eye can be).  This last 7 months has been a massive roller coaster for my eyes.

Have a good weekend all.

Leave a Reply

