The Dreaded Needle in the Eye

Standard

Ivit-injection

Despite being on Methotrexate and Oral Prednisone my scleritis is still flaring up.  I saw my eye doctor yesterday and he recommended a medication that is injected into the eye … not fun!

I have already had the right eye cut and had steroids injected into the cuts which was a horrible procedure and it still flares up on occasion but is generally much better.  This time it was the turn of the lucky left eye.

I was feeling a bit scared and tense but the eye doc did the injection and I was like wow didn’t feel a thing!   Anyway she takes another look at the consultant’s notes and realises that she hasn’t given me enough so I have another injection, a much larger one.  Well to say that hurt is an understatement!  Because it was a larger injection it expanded my eye and it was so painful.  She took the needle out and said oh there’s still some in there, so in it went for a 3rd time.  By this time I’m panting as though I’m about to give birth, hardly able to stand it.

Afterwards my eye looked like it was popping out of my head because it had expanded so much.  The doc checked that I could shut my eye properly and sent me on my way.  So I have one lens in, one eye that’s throbbing like a mother and I have to drive home.  I’m an expert at the one eyed driving trick by now.

This morning it’s not feeling too bad, a little red and very tender but much better than I thought it was going to be.  As I am now on Predforte drops I can’t wear a lens in that eye so I’m feeling a little unbalanced and sitting with my face real close to the computer at work so that I can see it properly.

Am hoping that this will do the trick and keep the scleritis at bay, I don’t know how much more I can take, it’s been constant pain for almost 6 months.  I don’t know how on earth I am keeping my bi-polar in check through these tough times; I am keeping surprisingly cheerful which is very good for my mental health.  Must be that I have a good team looking after me, my med combination is working great and I’m a tough old bird!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

